How to Delete Your Google Account Permanently 2023 – Want to delete your Google account for some reason? Follow the tutorial and what you should pay attention to below! You may want to delete your Google account for some reason. Maybe it’s because the account is no longer in use, someone is trying to hack your Google account, the email address is unprofessional, or you just want to delete past memories in that account.
Google accounts can indeed be permanently deleted. But, before deleting your Google account, there are a number of things you should know and do. What are they and how do I permanently delete my Google account? Here are the steps!
Some things you should know before deleting your Google account:
- After deleting a Google account, you will lose the data in that account. Like, photos, emails, files, videos, and other data.
- You will no longer be able to use Google products or services (Docs, Meet, Google Play, Calendar, and others) accessed using that account.
- You will lose access to any subscription content you purchased using that account. For example, YouTube, TV, apps, music, games and more.
Therefore, before deleting your account, make sure you do the following:
- Download all the data in your Google account. How to download it, you can visit takeout.google.com . After that, follow the steps, such as choosing which data you want to download, file format, method of sending files after downloading, and so on.
- Ensure important accounts such as online banking , social media, applications or games registered with the Google account to be deleted have been changed to the new Google account.
- Update account recovery info. If there is another Google account that uses the email address to be deleted as account recovery info, then you must replace it with a new email address.
If all of the above has been confirmed and done, then you can delete your Google account. Here’s how to delete a Google account on laptops and cellphones:
How to Delete Google Account on Laptop
1. Open your Google account
The first step is, open a Google account in the browser. Then, click on the profile section and select Manage your Google Account .
2. Select Data & privacy
After selecting Data & privacy, scroll to the More options section . Then click Delete your Google Account .
3. Re-login Google account
Enter the email password , then click Next to log in to your Google account. Re-login to ensure that the person deleting the account is really the owner, not a hacker.
4. Click Delete Account
Read the information from Google, and click all the checkboxes . After that, click DELETE ACCOUNT .
Done, your Google account has been permanently deleted!
How to Delete Google Account on Mobile
You can also delete your Google account via cellphone. In this article, for example using an iOS device, but these steps are exactly the same as how to delete a Google account on an Android cellphone. Here’s how:
1. Open the Gmail app
After the Gmail application is open, click the profile section in the upper right corner, then select Manage your Google Account .
2. Select Data & privacy
After that, a display like the following will appear. There are several menu options at the top. Select Data & privacy , scroll down and select Delete your Google Account .
3. Login to Google account
Google will ask you to log in again, enter your password and click Next to log in to your account.
4. Clik Delete Account
Read the information about deleting accounts from Google. Scroll down, check all the checkboxes and click DELETE ACCOUNT . Success, your Google account has been deleted.
By deleting a Google account, you will completely lose all data and also access using that account . So, before deleting, make sure all important data is backed up first, OK? If you no longer want to use the current Gmail, you can also delete it without deleting your Google account, you know.
Things you need to know if you want to delete your Gmail account are as follows:
- You will lose your Gmail account and will no longer be able to send and receive email messages.
- Even though it has been deleted, your email address cannot be used by anyone else.
- Deleting Gmail doesn’t delete your Google account, all activities with Google services and purchases on Google Play are still there and accessible.
How to delete Gmail Account:
Here are the steps to delete your Gmail account, see! Oh yes, you can apply this method on Android, iOS, and laptops too, because the steps are the same.
- Open a Gmail account on a laptop browser or the Gmail application on your cellphone.
- Click on the profile and select Manage your Google Account . Then select the Data & Privacy section .
- Scroll to the Download or delete your data section , then select Delete a Google service .
- After that, click the trash icon next to Gmail . You can click Download your data to download all important data in your Gmail service.
- Next, you must enter an email address as a substitute for the email address that will be deleted to still be able to use Google services. The email can’t use a Gmail account, huh.
- After that, click Send verification email .
- You will receive an email with the Subject “Gmail Deletion Confirmation” . Click the link in the email and verify the request to delete your Gmail service.
- Done, okay. Your email address (Gmail account) has been successfully deleted.
That’s how to delete a Google account and also a Gmail account. It’s not hard, right? Hopefully useful and good luck!